Potato, Pea & Mint Fritters with Quail Eggs

DSC_0145

Food stories. I absolutely love food stories, and I’ve shared a few of mine with you, but at the end of the day I just want to cook. So no story telling for today; just food and the recipe.

My last few posts have been quite rich and calorie laden and contrary to what anyone might think, I actually eat all that food. Yes! All the food that I cook and click and share, I also consume. So after all that, I really want to make something that is not only easy to cook but also calorifically easy. Is that even a word? Probably not; oh well, I came up with it and I’m sticking to it, so calorifically it is.

DSC_0177      DSC_0170

So here is my potato, peas and mint fritters. I really wanted the clean, fresh flavours to come through so I decided to keep it simple and served it with feta cheese and olives on the side. Since this was for breakfast, eggs were the next obvious choice. I had some lovely little quail eggs I had bought; I love how pretty and delicate they are and the blue and brown hues of their shell only adds to their beauty. It’s also the perfect size to be placed atop the fritters. I wanted to make this gluten free so I used rolled oats instead of breadcrumbs. These fritters are especially convenient if you plan on having guests over for a weekend breakfast or brunch; they can be prepared a night before, stored in the fridge and fried or baked just before serving.

Have a fun weekend and give these fritters a go.

DSC_0147

DSC_0131  DSC_0120

DSC_0155 DSC_0154

Ingredients

  • Potatoes- 500 grams
  • Peas (fresh or frozen) – 1 cup
  • Mint leaves- 1 cup
  • Fresh coriander-1 cup
  • Green chilies- 2
  • Rolled oats- 1/3 cup
  • Oil- 2-3 tbsp (for frying)
  • Salt- 1 ½ tsp (adjust according to taste)
  • Quail eggs- as required. (optional)

Instructions

  • Boil and mash the potatoes. Blanch the peas and mash coarsely. (if using fresh peas, boil till tender)
  • Chop the chilies finely (remove the seeds first, if you don’t want all the heat).
  • Grind oats to a powder. Chop the mint and coriander.
  • Mix everything together (except oil). Form lemon sized patties of the mixture.
  • In a frying pan, heat oil over a medium flame. Fry on both sides till golden brown.
  • Drain on paper towels. Serve hot as is  or with fried quail eggs.
  • Alternatively brush the patties lightly with oil and bake in a 180 C preheated oven.

Notes

*You can adjust the quantity of peas and herbs according to your taste.

*Oats can be substituted with breadcrumbs. If using oats, use rolled oats. You can adjust the quantity of the oats/breadcrumbs depending on the texture you want.

*Regular hen eggs can be substituted for quail eggs.

DSC_0165

3 thoughts on “Potato, Pea & Mint Fritters with Quail Eggs

Leave a Reply

