Green Deviled Eggs

DSC_0008-2

Recipe Post. You’ll be seeing a few of these ‘recipe posts’ for those times when I get supremely lazy. Too lazy to make long or difficult recipes, too lazy to write and too lazy to take (and edit) a whole lot of pictures; it’s still a recipe I’d like to share so on my busy days, yes we’re calling it busy now, not lazy, you’ll be getting a short and sweet recipe post. I think it’s a win- win situation; all of you (extremely patient people) get a recipe without me rambling on.

I don’t like eggs, just don’t! Even though I converted from vegetarianism (to be fair, I was never really absolutely and totally meat free) almost a decade ago; eggs, except in cakes and bakes, I just never took to, and it definitely wasn’t for lack of effort. I tried it in every form I could think of; the end result unfortunately remained the same. That is until I tried deviled eggs; mind you I still don’t like eggs but deviled eggs is probably the only way I can think of actually enjoying an egg.

DSC_0019

This can be made ahead of time and stored in the refrigerator which is great if you’re having a party or even if you just want an easy, healthy after school snack for the kids.

The hard boiled eggs are topped with spinach, green olives, capers and green peppercorns. I added some cheese and a tiny bit of nutmeg, because spinach – nutmeg – made for each other. Add to it whatever you like to make it your own.

DSC_0025

DSC_0020-4

Ingredients

  • Baby Spinach – 250 grams
  • Green olives – 8-10
  • Capers – 1-2 tbsp
  • Green peppercorns – ½- 1 tsp
  • Cream cheese – 2-3 tsp
  • Salt – if required
  • Nutmeg – a pinch or two
  • Eggs (hard boiled) – 10
  • Mustard greens for garnish (optional)

Instructions

  1. Wash to clean the spinach, if required. Fill a large pot with water and bring it to a boil. Add the spinach leaves to blanch. After 2-3 minutes strain and discard the water. Put the spinach in a muslin or cotton cloth and squeeze out as much of the water as you can.
  2. In a blender/food processor, add spinach along with all the other ingredients (except eggs) and puree. Optional- I also added the yolk from the boiled egg to puree along with the spinach.
  3. Taste to check if you require additional salt as capers, olives and cheese adds salt. I needed to add about ¼ tsp salt but then I’m a salt fiend.
  4. Top the boiled eggs with the green puree and serve at room temperature or cold. Garnish with mustard greens (optional).

 

Notes

*If you’re making this the night before, store the boiled eggs and the filling separately. Refrigerate both.

*Stuffed eggs covered with cling wrap can be stored for a couple of hours refrigerated.

*Blending the yolk with the spinach mixture gives it a nice creamy taste and texture but this is optional, you can leave the yolk in.

*Substitute, subtract, and add whatever ingredients you like, the possibilities are endless.

*If you want a healthier alternative to cheese, add Greek yogurt (or thick yogurt) instead.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

