Dragon fruit Cheesecake (No Bake)

I know, it’s been a long time, I apologize. Coming back from a trip home, that too after dropping off baby boy at school; it takes time to get back to being somewhat normal, but I’m getting there and being in the kitchen, experimenting, definitely helps.

DSC_0216

So baby boy is ok, we get to talk to him every Sunday and although he sounds chirpy and bright in the morning, by evening the tone is somewhat somber; I guess it’s the effect of dusk, or the start of another week, or the thought of having to wait a full week till the next phone call or probably a combination of all of the above. While the morning conversations are filled with details and excitement, the evening conversations are usually limited to “what else?” and “tell me something”. This Sunday evening though was a little different; he sounded better than usual, probably because there was a birthday celebration that evening and as we all know a party, even in a dorm, is still a party and cake equals happiness but I digress; so instead of the usual what else, he says “Mum I want to tell you something.” Now every time he says ‘I want to tell you something’ instead of just saying what he wants to, I know it’s trouble, and I was right! I mean aren’t we moms always right?

DSC_0224DSC_0231

Now over the years baby boy has come up with some pretty creative, random, call it what you may demands and requests and I really thought nothing could surprise me after almost ten years of the most ridiculous ‘I wants’ butttt I was wrong not right! Turns out us moms can be sometimes kinda, not always right but we’re still never wrong. So baby boy calls from school and asks for…brace yourselves…an elder sister! I was 22-23 when I got married and baby boy arrived within a year, he’s almost 10 now, how am I supposed to get him an older sister? I don’t have magical, time machine powers, what is he thinking!? But I take a deep breath and just say “well ok….but from where?” And he quickly says “Mamaaa you know…” do I? I mean I would know if we were talking about younger siblings but older? How am I supposed to know? I again take a deep breath and just tell him I don’t really know so he says “Well, you could just adopt one.” Huh? Seriously! The deep breathing continues and I remind myself that I’m his mother, I can find my way out, so I tell him maybe we could, but I need to talk to his father and the rest of the family and even if they are all on board, it’s a long legal procedure and in all probability it might not happen. Finally he seemed satisfied that I would try and thankfully left it at that but I still haven’t recovered completely, I’m wondering what this coming Sunday and all the other Sundays will bring, something just as crazy I’m sure and I can’t wait. To all my friends and family who know and talk to my son, please don’t tell him I put this on the blog, pretty please!

DSC_0010

 

To get over the above conversation, I had to divert my mind and what better place than the kitchen and of course nothing beats something sweet. I hadn’t made a cheesecake in a long time so that’s what I was craving but I also didn’t want to turn on the oven so a no bake cheesecake it had to be and dragon fruit because it’s local and it’s just so gorgeous. I prefer the taste of the red dragon fruit over the white ones and I also love the intense colour it has which I thought would be perfect in a cheesecake. Since this cheesecake isn’t baked, it contains no eggs and gelatin is used as a binder. The recipe is fairly simple to put together, everything just has to be mixed together and chilled. The resulting cheesecake has a lovely light texture with the subtle taste of dragon fruit and just the right amount of sweetness. In my home the crust is much sought after so this recipe has a slightly thicker crust than usual, you can halve the biscuit and butter quantities to get a thinner crust. I decorated this lovely pink purple cheesecake with some fresh dragon fruit balls and fresh flowers. Make this pretty cheesecake if you need to get over some craziness in your life, and even if you don’t, make it anyway.

DSC_0226

DSC_0241

Ingredients

  • Digestive biscuits/graham crackers- 250 grams
  • Butter- 150 grams
  • Dragon fruits- 2-3
  • Sugar- 100 grams
  • Cream Cheese- 500 grams (room temperature)
  • Whipping Cream- 250 ml
  • Gelatin powder- 2 tbsp
  • Water- 1/3 cup

Instructions

  1. Line the bottom and sides of an 8 or 9 inch spring form pan with parchment paper/baking paper, (I forgot to do this). Crush biscuits to get fine crumbs; you can do this using a food processor/blender or put the biscuits in a zip lock bag and using a rolling pin or a heavy pan, crush the biscuits. Melt the butter; mix together the melted butter and biscuit crumbs and press evenly onto the base of the prepared pan. Chill in the freezer for at least 10 minutes.
  2. Cut the dragon fruit in half and scoop out all the flesh. Using a blender, process the fruit to get a puree, you should have 2 cups of puree. Pour water in a microwaveable/heat proof bowl; add the gelatin powder to the water. Heat the gelatin in a microwave or over a double boiler till it has dissolved. Keep aside.
  3. In the bowl of a stand mixer, or a large bowl if using a hand mixer;
    • add the cream cheese and beat for a minute,
    • add sugar and beat till fluffy, about 2 minutes,
    • add the whipping cream, beat to combine,
    • add the dragon fruit puree, mix well
    •  add the gelatin and mix everything together.
  1. Pour the cream cheese mixture over the biscuit base in the prepared pan. Refrigerate the cheesecake and chill for at least 4-5 hours or overnight. If like me you didn’t line your pan with parchment paper, fret not, just run a sharp knife dipped in hot water all around edge to loosen the cheesecake and then unmould.

Notes

*You can halve the quantity of the biscuit base for a thinner crust, I just happen to like crust. I also used marie biscuits instead of digestive biscuits as that’s what I had.

*Room temperature cream cheese will be easier to beat so you can get it smooth and free of lumps.

*The number of dragon fruits you need will depend on their size; you require about two cups of puree.

Recipe inspired from foodmaestro.blogspot.co.id

 

10 thoughts on “Dragon fruit Cheesecake (No Bake)

Leave a Reply

