Carrot and Orange Loaf

This is one of those recipes I didn’t really plan on making; I had a few carrots lying in the fridge and I had been itching to do some baking experiments. Now as we all know, baking is a science, every ingredient that goes into the recipe is there not just for the flavour but also because it has a particular role to play in how it reacts with all the other ingredients and it’s times like these that I really wish I had paid more attention in math and science class. It’s no secret that math and I are not friends, in fact we can’t stand each other but what you may not know is that science too has never been a friend; so trying to create recipes when I struggle with numbers and equations both can be quite frustrating. Anyway the carrots were there and although I like eating carrots, there are only so many I can munch on before I start feeling like the rabbit on the bunny luv carrots and next to the carrots was a lone orange looking bored, pleading to be consumed and since both ingredients were colour coordinated, I decided to make a carrot and orange loaf.

dsc_0084dsc_0069-2dsc_0071

Since I’m new to creating recipes, quick breads or muffins are probably the best place to start; I first thought I’d make muffins but then I remembered I had these cute little mini loaf tins which I had bought maybe a year ago that were still waiting their chance; yes, that happens, some women have that problem with clothes, some with shoes and some like me with everything food related and that’s ok! Because there’s nothing that I’ve never used or just discarded, sometimes things sort of get neglected maybe for up to a year but never forgotten; I know it’s there and I will get around to it, just in my own time.

dsc_0087

Ok I’m just rambling along but then you’re used to it by now I’m sure. So anyway this is a super simple loaf cake or bread or whatever you’d like to call it, it’s basically mixing the dry ingredients in to the wet ingredients and sticking it in the oven, you don’t even need to plug in your mixer. The loaf comes out slightly browned and crispy around the edges and the centre is soft and filled with carrots, smelling of citrus from the orange with the occasional bite of sweet raisins; so perfect with a steaming cup of tea or coffee. This can be made in a 9 inch loaf tin or in mini loaf tins like I did, you could make carrot and orange muffins instead of a loaf, be sure to adjust baking time accordingly. Those of you following oh!sweet citrus’ facebook and instagram accounts will know I’ve been cooking with pears, so an equally simple and delicious pears dessert is coming up next, stay tuned.

dsc_0078dsc_0062dsc_0090dsc_0095

Ingredients

  • All purpose flour/ maida- 1 ¾ cups
  • Vegetable oil- ½ cup
  • Sugar- 1 cup
  • Eggs- 2
  • Grated carrots- 2 cups
  • Orange zest- 1-2 tsp
  • Orange juice (fresh) – ¼ cup
  • Lemon juice- 1 tbsp
  • Raisins- ¼ cup
  • Baking powder- 1 tsp
  • Baking soda- ½ tsp
  • Salt- ¼ tsp

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 180C. Very lightly grease or line a 9 inch loaf tin or 2-3 mini loaf tins.
  2. In a bowl, add the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt; mix and keep aside.
  3. In another large bowl, add eggs and oil and beat well (I used a hand whisk); add the sugar and beat again. Then add the orange zest, orange and lemon juice, raisins and carrots; mix.
  4. Add the flour mix to the wet ingredients and mix until just combined. Do not over mix.
  5. Pour batter into prepared tins and bake for 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the centre comes out. Baking time will vary depending on the size of the tins you use.
  6. Let the loaf cool in the tin for 10 minutes before turning it out onto a rack to cool.

Notes

  • Once you’ve added the dry ingredients to the wet, do not beat or whisk, just fold it in using a spoon or spatula until just combined; do not over mix.
  • Can be baked in one 9 inch loaf tin or 2-3 mini loaf tins or as muffins; be sure to adjust baking time accordingly.

 

8 thoughts on “Carrot and Orange Loaf

Leave a Reply

