Korma Roti (paratha)/ Lentil Flatbread

DSC_0057-2

Sometimes in the excitement and want of new, we tend to leave behind the old, the tried and tested and passed on from one generation to the next; I’m definitely guilty of this. I love discovering new food, food I haven’t heard of, seen or tasted before; it’s unfamiliar and though the unfamiliar can sometimes be scary, it’s also exciting. And just like that the familiar can sometimes be well, not so exciting, it’s something one is used to and thus, taken for granted. Even though I’ve spent more than a decade calling Rajasthan home, I had never heard of or tasted korma ri roti (that’s how it’s referred to back home). We were to have guests over for breakfast one day and my mother in law was deciding on the menu when she asked me if we should add korma ri roti to the menu; I was intrigued, primarily by the name but also because I had never had it, and so I promptly said yes. When I did have it the next day, it was like a super crispy delicious paratha and I absolutely loved it! I’m sharing this recipe not just because I loved it so much but also because it’s simple, healthy food that needs to remembered and made more often. Now, I really don’t know why it’s called “korma” ri roti, but then again I don’t really know why a potato is called a potato or an apple, apple; though if any of you know of an explanation/reason for it, I’d love to hear it.

DSC_0048-2

So korma roti, is a regional Rajasthani flatbread made with ground lentils and whole wheat flour, two basic ingredients, the other spices etc can vary and can be adjusted as per your taste. I added the usual Indian spices, turmeric, cumin, red chili powder and also some chopped green chilies and garlic. Make sure you grind the dal well, pieces of whole dal will make rolling out the roti (flatbread) difficult and it also won’t get as crisp; it’s the dal spread throughout the dough that makes it all nice and crispy. When kneading the dough, keep in mind, it should be a stiff dough so add water a little at a time, if gets too wet, you can always add more flour but it’s best if that can be avoided. For me, korma roti served with some dahi and achaar (yogurt and pickle) is a complete meal but it also goes well with aloo ki sabzi (potato curry). This is pretty much how it’s made back home, I added a couple of things like the ajwain and haldi, I didn’t have any fresh coriander or I would’ve probably added that too; add or leave out ingredients to make it your own but do make it.

p.s the food blogging community is apparently quite a social one, whereas I’m quite the opposite, and yet Jhuls@ thenotsocreativecook and Andrea@ cookingwithawallflower have been very nice to me, so do visit their lovely space and show them some love.

DSC_0039DSC_0062

Ingredients

  • Moong dal/Split green gram- ½ cup
  • Atta/Whole wheat flour- 1 cup + more for dusting the surface
  • Garlic paste or finely chopped- 1 ½ tsp
  • Red chili powder- 1 tsp
  • Haldi/Turmeric powder- ¼ tsp
  • Salt- 1 tbsp
  • Jeera/Cumin seeds or powder- 1 tsp
  • Ajwain/carom- ¼ tsp
  • Green chilies- 2-3 finely chopped (optional)
  • Ghee/oil- for frying, ¼- ½ cup
  • Water- as required

Instructions

  1. In a mixer/food processor, grind the dal coarsely; you want to make sure the dal breaks down (refer to the above picture) so it doesn’t tear the roti while rolling it out. Then soak the dal in water for about 3-4 hours. There should be enough water to completely cover the dal; after 3-4 hours the dal will have absorbed most of the water, if excess water remains, drain it out.
  2. In a big bowl, add the whole wheat flour, all the spices, garlic, green chilies and salt. Mix everything together (I use my hands), then add the soaked dal and mix everything well. Add water 2-3 tbsp at a time and keep kneading till it comes together to form a stiff dough.
  3. Divide the dough equally to form lime size balls. Using a rolling pin, roll out the dough in a circle and as thin as you can without it breaking. Dust with flour if the dough sticks.
  4. To cook it, heat a tawa/pan, place the rolled out roti on the pan and let it cook for a minute or so, flip it and drizzle with ghee on the top side, flip it again and put ghee/oil on the other side as well; using a spatula keep pressing down on the roti to get it nice and crispy. Repeat for the rest of the dough.

  Notes

*Make sure you grind the dal well; whole pieces of dal will make it difficult to roll out the dough.

*The dal can be soaked overnight too, just make sure you don’t forget about it otherwise it will start to sprout.

*Dust the surface with flour if you find the dough is sticking and tearing.

*For an oil free version, cook the roti on both sides without adding any ghee/oil.

 

One thought on “Korma Roti (paratha)/ Lentil Flatbread

Leave a comment